Your children will love home schooling (episode 2)


When you have children there are many questions that you will be faced with. Some of them are, how do we pay for this? What was I thinking? Will he grow up to be a criminal? And the list goes on. Well one of the most important issues is going to be what kind of education will this child receive? There are a number of options out there, Public school, private school and home school. Each one of these has multiple subcategories that need to be explored. With the public school question you have to look at the area you live in and how good they are, not all public schools are the same which definitely goes for private schools too. The third option is homeschooling which is the direction that my wife and I are heading.

Why homeschooling you ask? My wife and I were both homeschooled (I also went to public and private school) which opened us to doing it for our children. My job requires me to move every so many years and I need my children’s education to remain stream lined. It is not very expensive to teach your children yourself. Studies show that homeschooled children do a better job then public schooled children and also fare better in college too. Homeschooled children play more sports and do more extra curricular activities then traditionally schooled children, this is according to HSLDA.

While every one has to make a decision about their children’s education, looking into homeschooling is a very wise move. I know that many people will throw out the old “But your child will not be socialized”. Well I am not sure what this question means. Since most children will be just like you and you are probably not a hermit then I think you have little to fear. Furthermore there have been many studies that show that homeschooled children are in fact very well adjusted. (Source) My wife is a really god example, she was homeschooled her entire life and no one would ever guess she was.

There are plusses and minuses to all forms of education and there isn’t a wrong or right way to go about it. But this the direction that my wife and I are headed.

Which direction are you headed?

Image

One thought on “Your children will love home schooling (episode 2)

Leave a Reply

