Being a better dad


Crash!!! The Lego play set hits the floor and explodes into a million pieces. DAD…brother is knocking things of the table! Can you tell him to stop it? That is how much of my day sounds. The kids are off destroying something again and not playing nicely with one another. This starts at 6 in the morning and doesn’t stop till they go to bed at 8 in the evening. Dad this dad that. But I have to say that I love it. There are mornings when I am dead tired and just want to go back to sleep but being with my kids is like nothing else.

In the morning I am greeted with a big smile from my daughter who gets super excited that I am going to pick her up and play with her. Then I walk into the living room and my kids are generally watching some kind of tv show that has super heroes in it. My kids know all about Superman, Green Lantern and other such heroes. They then greet me and want to hug up on me when I sit on the couch. After a little while of waking up, I go and make breakfast and have my kids help me with making it. Son 2 gets eggs all over his hands laughs about it. He tries to climb up to the sink to wash his hands. Finally they are begging for bacon and eggs to be served. They go sit at the table and play with their legos while they are eating their bacon and eggs. They tell me about latest adventure they are playing with their Lego people.

Who has ever heard the statement,”what is sticking out of my mouth? It’s my tongue.” It is really random the stuff that they say and it really will surprise you.

After eating breakfast we do all kinds of things from going to the mall, out for a walk, read books, go to the beach or the local water park. Each of these things is super exciting for them and they tell me all about how great it is. After playing like this they generally take a nap and after a couple of hours they get up again to go play and go outside.

What gets me is how excited they are to do all the things that they do. They  are just little sponges to new events and experiences. They learn new things all the time and they just do it so quickly. They have learned to walk and talk and inter act with you. It is an honor to be there with them during this entire experience. Some days you never want it to end. I look forward to being there in the future and see how they grow both physically and mentally into strong independent adults. I want to teach them all new skills from shooting guns, to hunting, to taking care of a car and just practical stuff around the house. This is what gives me great enjoyment and what drives me to be a better dad for them.Image

2 thoughts on “Being a better dad

Leave a Reply

