Liar, liar pants on fire


My mouth dropped and my brain froze as I realized that my 4 year old was lying to me. I had never run into this moment before. What to do or say to him? It took me a couple of minutes to coax the truth out of him However, I was still reeling from him lying to me. What should I say at this point I don’t think he was meaning to hurt me, but I think he was trying to protect himself from something he did was wrong.

 I waited a couple of hours before I proceeded with my actions. I sat him down and talked with him about why he had lied. I told that I was deeply disappointed in him (I think I should have spanked him but that might have been too much for him at that time). Instead I told him how he made me sad and that I didn’t want to do nice things for him when he lies. He cried at this point. I told him he could talk to me about anything, no matter how bad it was. Hopefully this talk will have the proper effect, time will tell.

Image

2 thoughts on “Liar, liar pants on fire

Leave a Reply

