A bag of Doritos a day, keeps the doctor away Part 1


Growing up, my mother cooked home made meals everyday and our intake of sodas and junk food was rather limited. I thought in some ways we were weird for this. Most other people I knew ate chips, microwaved meals and ate at restaurants. It wasn’t really until later that I realized that what I had was not normal, however not out of the ordinary. So when we had kids,  my wife and I decided that she would stay home and she would also cook home made foods. We also decided that our kids would have limited amount of junk foods and sodas. This is actually a much tougher gig to follow then you would imagine.

The main reason why this is tough is because candy, chocolate, chips and sodas are everywhere. Kids win in a game they get candy, they go to the bank and get a lollipop, they go to relatives or friends soda and chips it is. (I am not saying this is bad) It’s as though parents are setup for failure. You can control their intake to a certain degree but it’s tough. I want my kids to enjoy candy and I don’t want to deprive them, but that is where moderation comes in.

What my wife and I did was to not deprive them when they go out. However we have a limited amount of junk food at home. This keeps temptation down for both us and the kids. We do have fruit and regular food at the house. On top of that I also give my kids Kombucha. This is a healthy alternative to sodas and juices. We also attempt to eat at regular times this ends up curbing their appetites through out the day. Staying consistent with food and not giving junk food lead my kids to eating a big variety of foods such as broccoli and other vegetables.

Read more:

15 tips on getting your kids to eat: http://www.parents.com/kids/nutrition/healthy-eating/get-your-kids-to-eat-better/

additional tips: http://kidshealth.org/parent/nutrition_center/healthy_eating/eating_tips.html

Kombucha made easy: http://foodriotradio.com/2013/06/kombucha-made-easy/

What do raw milk and transfat have in common? http://grassfedanarchist.com/2014/01/02/what-do-what-do-raw-milk-and-trans-fats-have-in-common/

2 thoughts on “A bag of Doritos a day, keeps the doctor away Part 1

  1. Ok a middle aged remark is coming. Brace yourself. When I was the age of your children the cultural norm even for busy houses was to eat a home made meal at the dinner table. Moms did most of the cooking. Breakfast cereal was a really big deal, so in terms of daily junk I ate a lot of Sugar Smacks, Sugar Pops, Captain Crunch, Fruit Loops and Lucky Charms (Yucky Charms). And it wasn’t unusual to find the same in other kids’ homes. Nutrition may have been a hot topic in some households, just like it is today in some (emphasis on some) homes. I grew up in the typical working class home and what I knew of nutrition was you must have something green, a glass of milk, a starch and a meat or protein of some kind at dinner. For lunch somehow the white bread sandwich was the staple and reflected somewhat the dinner plan. Bread was the starch, peanut butter or lunch meat the protein and of course the ubiquitous pint of milk was requisite. When we ate chips it was a small handful in a baggie. Of course we did eat nasty Hostess sweets for dessert. I read a remark someone made on Facebook a day or so ago about shopping to prepare for the snowstorm and it said, “Buy white foods like bread and milk.” I didn’t know the person but I imagine they were my age. I guess the thought I have on this is that you are right. If most kids are eating the junk and a few are not, the few will want what the majority has. But the reverse is also true. I admired the care the parents (moms) who bothered about nutrition put into their shopping and meal preparation. I ate more than one lunch at a friend’s house where there was no white bread and no Kool Aid. I remember (shamefully now) expressing how terrible a hardship that must have been, what a deprivation…and I said this out loud with the parent present (can you imagine?). But what I often got back was tender concern and instruction regarding the differences between healthy and non healthy foods and the rational behind the lunch choices. Then I was envious of the care and love shown through the food choices. So keep it up! Your kids will thank you later. And an apple a day is a good start to keeping the doctor away.

Leave a Reply

